jump to navigation

Revisiting Progress January 25, 2010

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

The other day I saw a brochure titled “The Progressive City: Birmingham in the 1930s,” and, well, I could barely contain myself. Regular readers of this blog will know that I’m fascinated by that period in American history, that I’m *especially* fascinated by that period in Birmingham history, and that I’m working on pieces for a 1930s-inspired show at Naked Art this June.

The brochure promotes Collective Perspectives, Vulcan Park and Museum’s annual series of arts events to mark Black History Month. Because this year’s series is themed to B’ham in the ’30s, the park will spotlight the era’s art, music, people, and events through the visual arts, musical performances, theater, and film every Thursday evening in February.

But it gets better.

The visual arts part, scheduled for Feb. 4, showcases Frank Hartley Anderson, a master printmaker active in B’ham in the 1930s through the Federal Art Project. He chronicled Birmingham’s landmarks and people through his black-and-white woodcut prints, which are amazing in both technique and image. Can you tell that I find his work very inspiring? (If you get a copy of the Collective Perspectives brochure, check out the snippet of Anderson’s “Iron Furnace” print; my “Iron Spires” print of Sloss Furnaces is, in part, an homage to this print.) Graham Boettcher, curator of American art at the Birmingham Museum of Art, will discuss Anderson and his B’ham works.

But wait–it gets even better.

That night, Vulcan Park will have a mini show of Anderson’s prints belonging to the art museum. I can’t tell you how excited I am about this–as far as I’m aware, only two of them have ever been on display in recent years. Following the Feb. 4 event, the Museum of Art will show Anderson’s prints from Feb. 9 to May 9. I am so there.

Vulcan Park’s Web site has more info about the series as a whole, but not the individual events, which is too bad, because they all sound interesting. Admission to each event is $10 and $30 for the entire series. Each event lasts from 5:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. Hopefully I’ll see you there!

Comments»

1. LK Whitney - February 2, 2010

Where, oh where did you pick up this brochure?!?! I want one for myself!

2. something to get excited about « Magic City Manifesto - February 2, 2010

[…] over to Charles’ blog Pop Goes the City RIGHT now for more info!!  I promise, you’ll have reason to celebrate all month long! […]

3. http://google.com - February 13, 2013

“Revisiting Progress Pop Goes the City” was a wonderful blog post and thus I
was in fact truly joyful to read the blog
post. Thanks for your time,Lilly


Leave a Reply

