jump to navigation

Toward 2010 December 31, 2009

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

I like new years. They’re all fresh and clean and full of possibility–much like a sheet of paper I haven’t doodled on yet. And now that we’re on the verge of another one, I’m scribbling down some plans for 2010, both art-related and otherwise. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

–I’d like to begin some face-to-face get-togethers of the Birmingham Printmakers group that currently exists only on Facebook. Perhaps in January or February.

–Screenprinting. Finally!

–Last year I enjoyed shopping more at our local farmers markets, and I want to continue to do that this year. And I’m going to try growing a few of my own things, too–simple things like tomatoes, basil, and radishes.

–And then I’m going to take all of those fresh veggies and cook more this year.

–I want to get back into running, and I might even try a short race. Or join the Birmingham Track Club. I’m also intrigued by rock climbing. I’d like to try it sometime.

–Explore Alabama some more. Somewhere I have a list of day trips written down. I definitely want to make my first visit to the Dismals this year.

–More travel outside Alabama, too!

–I’ll be working on pieces for the WPA-inspired show at Naked Art in June for half of the year. I really want this show to be a success for all of the artists who will be involved.

–And I want to use my art to help boost Birmingham. I’ve got some ideas on how I’d like to do that, and I’d like to put them into action this year.

–The other day I saw an article about Kwanzaa, which is under way right now, that included a beautiful description of kuumba, or creativity, one of the principles celebrated during the holiday: “to do always as much as we can, in the way we can, in order to leave our community more beautiful and beneficial than we inherited it.” Isn’t that an inspiring line? I think that’s a perfect resolution for everyone in the Birmingham region, especially considering the year we just had. It’s certainly something that I’m going to try to keep in mind throughout 2010.

Happy new year!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

