jump to navigation

On Stage June 16, 2009

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’ve been a busy printmaker lately! Lots of stuff going on behind the inky scenes, but I can now give you a couple of updates.

First, when you’re at City Stages this weekend, be on the lookout for the cool commemorative poster featuring my prints! It’s the first time my work has been turned into letterpress, which was a thrill for me. I created two new prints–including an all-new version of the famous Magic City sign–that were enlarged and transformed into the letterpress plates used to print this 16×20 poster. The posters capture the layered feel of my other work, and I’m very happy with how they turned out. They’ll be for sale somewhere on the City Stages site.

And on Saturday, June 27, see me carve and print a new block live at the East Lake Farmers Market. I’m very excited to help support this market–it’s not as big as the more well-known Pepper Place market, but when you buy something there, you feel like you’re making a concrete contribution to the revitalization of that neighborhood. The market runs from 8:00 a.m. to noon in the parking lot of the East Lake United Methodist Church, at 2nd Ave. S. and 78th Street.

This year the East Lake market is really trying to showcase local artists, which is a great idea. (This is actually part of a wider campaign to bring art and artists to help energize East Lake, and I’m all for that.) If you know of any artists who’d like some exposure, this is a super easy way to do it. They’ll even provide a tent. Here are the details from Jeff Willoughby, who is spearheading the effort:

“East Lake Arts has partnered with PEER, Inc. (Promoting Empowerment & Enrichment Resources) to bring art and artists and music to the East Lake Farmers’ Market. I am currently looking for artists to commit to May 30 through mid-October.

ELA is a grassroots org fostering revitalization in East Lake and enhancing the quality of life in East Lake by celebrating our culturally diverse residents through the arts, visual and performing.

Booth rate for sellers is $20 (cheap) and free to artists who, because of gallery exclusivity, will come and demonstrate their craftsmanship. WE ENCOURAGE BOTH!!! Please share this with your artists and musician friends.

I am eager to tell each of you about our organization and our efforts. E-mail me at jeffwilloughbyATgmailDOTcom.”

Comments»

1. CJ - June 17, 2009

Seriously? A letterpress poster? Charles! That is so fun! And geez, now I’m probably going to have to buy it–I surely don’t NEED anymore letterpress (I’m running out of wall space!) but it may be hard to resist …


Leave a Reply

