jump to navigation

Birmingham Takes Off! December 6, 2008

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

Our Magic City has gone global in the new issue of American Way, the inflight magazine for American Airlines! Check out the article offering tips on where to go, eat, and shop that will be on every plane American flies around the world for the next few weeks.

I got a call a couple of months ago about this article, and it was extremely exciting to be one of the locals offering inside info about cool places in Birmingham. The owner of What’s On Second told me that a visitor has already come in with a copy of the magazine–he planned to visit every place mentioned in the article.

I find it hard to believe, however, that Urban Standard was that empty when they took a photo!

Also, Naked Art Gallery got a huge shout-out in USA Today, or at least usatoday.com. Scroll way down through the Pop Candy blog (which also appears as a column in the printed paper) to a section titled “Gift idea No. 8: Cool, affordable art,” and you’ll hear how the author discovered the gallery during a visit to Birmingham–and how much she enjoyed it. Vero reports that orders are now coming in from all over the country!

Comments»

1. CJ - December 8, 2008

I flew American this weekend and was thrilled to death when I saw this article (especially with all its pictures of Urban!). I also thought it was hilarious that I knew three of the five people quoted. How’d they end up getting in touch with you?

2. cbuchanan - December 8, 2008

CJ, they found me through the Artwalk Web site. It was quite a surprise when they contacted me, but it was a lot of fun. They could use only a quote, but I gave them a *lot* of info about the city–probably more than they expected!

When I saw the other people quoted, I had to laugh, too–I realized I had met a couple and worked with another one. How very Birmingham!


Leave a Reply

