jump to navigation

Filling Up Fall October 19, 2008

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

I think I’m finally beginning to get over the cold/allergies/whatever that hit me upon my return from South America. Which is good, because there are a lot of intriguing local events coming up–several of them themed to Halloween:

Oct. 24 and 29: “Birmingham Noir” is a nighttime walking tour through downtown’s tawdry past, led by the Birmingham Public Library’s archivist. I missed this last year and am really glad they’re doing it again this year. I couldn’t find info about it on the library’s site, but ActiveCulture has some details.

Oct. 25: Vulcan Park and Museum hosts a morning walking tour of Birmingham’s historic Oak Hill Cemetery. I’m interested in seeing this spot not simply because it’s the final resting place of Birmingham’s founders and early luminaries, but because it’s also one of those cemeteries with architectural tombs–often dripping in statuary.

Oct. 25: I’m going to check out Art in Avondale Park, a small art festival in a beautiful setting, to see who’s showing this year. It goes on from 10:00 to 4:00.

Oct. 25: The Alabama Theatre shows The Phantom of the Opera, the 1925 silent film with live organ accompaniment. Somehow I always seem to miss this, but darn it, I’m going this year!

Nov. 2: Dia de los Muertos at Bare Hands Gallery! I love this event and rank it among Birmingham’s best for its exuberance, atmosphere, and visual spectacle. See the site for details and a schedule (and info on how to join the Friends of the Festival).

Nov. 7: “Cupcakes!” at Space One Eleven. Spencer Shoults turns cupcakes into kinetic art. This I have to see. :)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

