jump to navigation

Bom dia! October 12, 2008

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

This blog has been a little quiet lately–and for good reason. I’ve been in South America! Traveling is one of my hobbies, and this year I decided to visit Brazil and Argentina–specifically Rio de Janeiro, Iguazu Falls, and Buenos Aires. I had a great time, and it wore me out because I walked pretty much nonstop around each place.

There were so many memorable moments: eating exotic fruits in Brazil, seeing tango in a century-old cafe and visiting a massive antique market in Buenos Aires, chasing boldly colored butterflies at Iguazu, walking the beaches and sipping on coconut water in Rio, and getting blasted by the spray at the falls, which are the most impressive thing I’ve ever seen. I also saw lots of interesting art, from the graffiti and over-the-top cemetery statuary in Buenos Aires and the mosaic pavements in Rio to “real” works like the prints and sculptures in this gallery in Buenos Aires. I’d like to go back to Rio and B.A. just to look up more artists–there’s a lot of creativity and color down there.

I’ve already got some ideas and inspiration for my own work. It’ll be interesting to see how this trip jazzes up my Alabama-centric prints.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

