jump to navigation

Fresh Ideas June 15, 2008

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

The Junior Patrons wine-tasting-and-art event last week was a big success, and I had a great time meeting lots of new people. The remaining prints from that night are now at Naked Art (and one of them, the Uniform House of Dixie ghost sign, is now on my Flickr page). I also enjoyed exploring Village Wine Market that night–a big thanks to them for hosting the event!

This weekend I’ve been working on pieces for a forthcoming group show at Naked Art, but I did take some time to enjoy an amazing dinner at the home of two friends. Every dish was made from produce purchased at the Pepper Place Market, and with every bite, I became more convinced that I need to start buying a majority of my produce at our local farmers markets. It’s impressive how successful they’ve become in this city within a short time–and how many have popped up–and I hope that trend continues.

In that vein–of local growing and local eating–check out Eating Alabama, a blog chronicling the adventures of four friends who have vowed to eat only food grown or raised in Alabama for a three-month period. It’s informative, entertaining, intriguing, inspiring–and mouth-watering.

And don’t forget that it’s almost time to go pick sunflowers at Jones Valley Urban Farm in downtown B’ham. (The sight of sunflowers blooming with the skyline in the background has to be one of the coolest, most unique local images.) It happens from 2:00 to 5:00 p.m. on Saturday, June 21, and afterward, at 6:00, Muse of Fire brings Shakespeare from Sloss Furnaces to the urban farm, staging “garden scenes” from Shakespeare plays, accompanied by wine and hors d’oeuvres. Sunflower picking is free, and the Muse of Fire performance has a $25 donation.

Comments»

1. Christina - June 19, 2008

Last year the sunflowers cost — I think $10. I hate that I’ll be out of town. I got a bunch last year and loved them in my house.


Leave a Reply

