jump to navigation

Are You Connected? Part 2 April 28, 2008

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

When I was at Magic City Art Connection, I collected a bunch of business cards from artists whose work really struck me. I thought I’d share their names and/or links with you in case you wanted to check them out, too. (In some cases you may have to dig around a bit on the sites to find the specific art I’m talking about.)

Walt Creel–How do I explain this? Imagine a dot-matrix printed image of an opossum–except the “paper” is painted aluminum, and the “dots” are holes made by a gun. Yes, I’m serious, and the result was very impressive! The ‘possum was my favorite, but he had several others, including a deer and an owl.

Kristen Farmer Hall–I love the sleek, colorful, retro-modern glass dishes she had at the festival. You can use them to display something or even eat off of–she says they’re dishwasher-safe!

Bethanne Hill–Mix a Southern folk artist with Van Gogh’s swirliness, and you get Bethanne’s paintings. She’s starting to use more silhouettes in her work, but they still vibrate with energy.

Lucy Graves Hollis–Mosaics using paper instead of tile. I really haven’t seen anything quite like her detailed images, and I wish she had a Web site so you could see them too. She had a large angel piece that looked like stained glass.

Alex Leopold–Mixed media pieces. Naturally, I love all the layering in his work, but I was also drawn to use his use of color, text (especially the scribbled text), and sketchy line drawings.

Allen Peterson–Metal sculpture and rust prints.

Brandon Watkins–Screenprints and drawings. I really liked his large, yellow-and-black take on the Alabama Theater sign and architecture.

Marie Weaver–Block prints. The detail and color are amazing.

There were also two other guys whose cards I didn’t get. One of them impresses me every time I see his work. He puts portions of sepia-toned photographs on transparency paper, then layers and overlaps them to create the full image, pinning everything together in big shadowboxes. The other guy made huge pieces with thick, vibrant red and blue paint–and in the paint, he had stamped patterns using screens and…something circular and industrial-looking. You know I loved that!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

