jump to navigation

In My Head March 23, 2008

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

I finished carving a new little printing block this weekend, depicting a few leafy sprigs of kudzu. It may be one of the most delicate and pretty carvings I’ve done. I’m very happy with it, and I’ll try to have it where you can see it soon–either at Naked Art or online somewhere.

Anyway, most people don’t know that when I’m carving these things, I often keep certain inspirations in mind–inspirations that help shape the translation from photograph to print. For example, for the kudzu block, I was thinking of art nouveau design (sinuous and swirly lines, often featuring plenty of plants) and–believe it or not–Indian fabric prints (lots of paisleys and intricate designs, often created using carved wood blocks). Now you’re not likely to actually see those influences when you look at the final print, and even I don’t always see them in the end, but they play a role in helping me figure out what/what not to carve, where to place images on the blocks, and even what patterns to use when I carve out large areas (since those areas will show up in prints if ink gets on them). Some of my past inspirations have included jazz (Cabana Hotel and Carver Theatre prints) and even famous painters like Edward Hopper (Coffee Shoppe print)–and for one forthcoming carving, I’m thinking film noir!

Comments»

1. susannah - March 24, 2008

Oooh, I look forward to seeing that kudzu print!

Hmm, kudzu on a onesie might be nice. :)


Leave a Reply

