jump to navigation

News Week February 12, 2008

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

It’s been a busy week already!

–I’m now teaming up with my friend (and, it turns out, great writer) Terri Dann to bring you the “In Love With” column over at The Terminal. My first piece went up today, and it’s a longer account of my ramble at Moss Rock Preserve, including a photo. Each week the column highlights cool places and things around the city–some you know and some that might be a little more hidden–often tied to a certain theme like “living like a hedonist for under $10.” It’s a fun way to highlight some of the elements that make Birmingham magic for me, so look for my contribution over there every other week, and let me know what you think!

–The 2008 Artwalk artist application is now available! You can download it at Artwalk’s Web site, and be sure to note the earlier deadlines of April 1 and April 31. This year’s Artwalk will be Sept. 5 and 6.

–This Friday night, What’s On Second hosts an art opening to celebrate Black History Month, featuring “outsider artists” Myron Pierre (known for downtown B’ham cityscapes and political art), D. Todd (who creates “charming depictions of women’s accoutrements,” according to the announcement; that should be interesting!), and Annie Mae Young (one of the quilters of Gee’s Bend). I think it’s hilarious how New Yorkers go ga-ga over the Gee’s Bend quilts, but I do love seeing them for their striking lines and bold colors. I also have a soft spot for quilters since my Tennessee grandmother made a couple that I treasure.

–I have a ton of work, including some of my largest art pieces, now on the walls of Silvertron Cafe in Forest Park. I like the idea of having my prints there, since that place has been known for displaying old photos of Birmingham. All of my pieces there are available to buy through Naked Art.

–Thanks to everyone who came out to Naked Art’s Valentine show opening last week! It seems that my one-of-a-kind cards are popular, so I’ll try to make more for various occasions in the future. They’re fun to do–but take a while because of all the layers. Plenty of small wall pieces inspired by fortune cookie fortunes are still available, so be sure to stop by the gallery to see those.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

