jump to navigation

Looking Back and Forth December 30, 2007

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

As of tomorrow, Dec. 31, I will have “officially” done art for four years now. (It’s the anniversary of when I first showed my prints to Vero at Naked Art and got the OK to exhibit them.) It’s been such a fun, random, life-changing ride, and 2007 has been one of the most amazing years. Thanks very much for making that happen!

And now, on to 2008! I’ve got cool artworks in the works and plenty of print- and Birmingham-related plans. Or you could call them resolutions. Either one works.

I’m going to try to keep the news areas of my Web site up to date. (I predict this will be the first one broken!)

I want to cook more and take advantage of the fresh offerings at our farmers markets and urban farm.

I plan to do more metal casting at Sloss Furnaces and continue the experiments to merge that with my printmaking.

I will diversify the work I’ll have available at Artwalk.I want to explore Ruffner Mountain Nature Center, Moss Rock Preserve, and the Southern Museum of Flight and take more day trips to places like Rickwood Caverns, Natural Bridge, and the Dismals.

I’m going to try to support (with money, publicity, or other means) local revitalization projects such as the parks initiative, the renovation of the Lyric Theatre, etc.

I will try not to run and hide when I see myself on HGTV. :)

And I’m going to continue pushing the boundaries of block printmaking. I have some very intriguing ideas simmering that I’m itching to try out!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

