jump to navigation

A New Standard December 16, 2007

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

A friend and I checked out Urban Standard, the new coffee shop on 2nd Ave. N., this weekend–and I instantly loved the place. I do believe it will become one of the city’s prime gathering spots, joining favorites like Rojo, Bottletree, and Cantina. I particularly liked the atmosphere of the place, the intriguing collection of books and other non-coffee, non-food items for the home off to the side, and the tasty chai. (They also get bonus kudos from me for the cylindrical poster kiosk outside, reminiscent of the ones seen in Paris.) Next time I go, I want to try their lunch and a baked goodie or two. (They have tarts, which is one of my weaknesses!)

I was glad to see them getting a steady stream of business on a Saturday afternoon. Downtown has quite an interesting collection of independent, homegrown retail establishments now, with Urban Standard, What’s on Second, and Reed Books close together, and Sojourns just a couple of blocks away. It’s becoming the place to go if you want to find unique, definitely not run-of-the-mill items.

Comments»

1. inkstainedlife - December 17, 2007

Anyone who has talked to me in the past week can tell you how obsessed I am with this place. I’ve dubbed it the love of my life. And I’m only exaggerating a little bit.


Leave a Reply

