jump to navigation

Words and Music August 6, 2007

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

Be sure to pick up the August issue of Birmingham Magazine for a fun feature called “My Birmingham,” in which various people describe the unique, irreplaceable things that make this city *their* city. I was honored to be asked to contribute, so I wrote about one of the major inspirations for my artwork, which you can see illustrating walls all over downtown.

Since I’m a magazine editor in my day job, I’m eager to see how the B’ham Mag scribes turned the tables on me. :) Plus I believe they included an image of one of my favorite pieces. Let me know what you think of the article when you see it. (HINT to B’ham Mag people: Make “My Birmingham” a regular department. It’s a wonderful idea, the range of responses would be fascinating, and it would reiterate the message each month that B’ham is a cool place to be.)

Also, this past Friday I was invited to the Vulture Whale CD release party at Bottletree, and the band ROCKED–both literally and figuratively! What an impressive, energetic show! I created the album art for that CD, and it’s been quite a thrill to see my work on iTunes, Amazon, and in the hands of music fans at Bottletree that night. Vulture Whale is a local band that’s getting great reviews nationally, so don’t miss a listen, especially if you get a chance to see them live.

Comments»

1. Steven - August 7, 2007

I’ll look for it. Congrats on being featured.


Leave a Reply

