jump to navigation

Magic Art April 29, 2007

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

I think everyone I saw at Magic City Art Connection asked me where my booth was–or why I wasn’t exhibiting there. :)

That show is a big step up from Artwalk. It’s longer, more expensive, and logistically tougher–whether it’s tents or displays or the fact that I’d need to make perhaps 500 prints to have enough on hand. But maybe I’ll reconsider when the applications come out for the 2008 show, since people seem to like the idea of my art being there (and since MCAC is where–several years ago–I saw a block printmaker and recalled how to do it myself, which sort of kick-started my whole art career). I did take some mental notes on the different displays in various artists’ tents–just in case.

If you’re not full of art after the weekend, go over to the Museum of Art’s sculpture garden and admire the Suska scupltures. He’s a Czech artist doing a residency at Wade Sand and Gravel here in town (I love that an industrial company has an artist residency program!), and he’s transformed industrial metal containers into some incredible art. My favorites are two capsule-shaped containers that have been carved with delicate patterns–almost like lace or lattice. I was entranced by them. They look different from every angle.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

