jump to navigation

Postpourri March 26, 2007

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

I haven’t forgotten about the blog. I’ve been toiling away on some little projects that I’ll be able to tell you about soon–hopefully.

This Friday night, March 30, Artwalk is hosting a Brewhaha at the Starbucks in Five Points South. This time the featured artist is Jarrett Rutland, known for his colorful, whimsical creatures wrought in–well, it looks like watercolor to me. :) They’re fun–check ’em out.

One thing I *can* tell you about is that I’m making some small wall pieces for the April opening at Naked Art. They all feature springy subjects and include three totally new prints. I also plan to have some new framed versions of classic prints.

I’ve been engaged in the time-intensive task of rearranging (other artists’) art on my walls at home to make room for everything I’ve bought in the past year–just in time for Magic City Art Connection. :)

I’m also excited that I recently found a spot where I can take a good photo of Vulcan from the front–without being able to fly. Go to the start of the Vulcan Trail, just below the park, and walk just a bit down the sidewalk that goes down the mountain. Speaking of the trail, I took my first walk down part of it a couple of weekends ago, and I loved it. It was a unique feeling–like I was in nature, but suspended just above the city, where I could observe and hear the sounds of both nature and neighborhoods at the same time. I also liked seeing the relics of the old mining railroad that preceded the trail along the way. Parts of the trail were washed out, and I hope it can be repaired–walking it felt like one of those only-in-Birmingham experiences, and I hope to traverse the full length one day soon.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

