jump to navigation

Birthday Greetings October 26, 2006

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

Yesterday was a happy birthday–not for me, but for my cartoon character.

Before I started doing the block prints, I was a cartoonist. When I was seven and eight, I planned to take over “Peanuts” from Charles Schulz. Seriously. And then, when I was nine, inspired by a “Garfield” TV show, I decided to create my own cartoon character–24 years ago yesterday.

Even though I had always drawn pictures–my grandmother’s refrigerator was my first gallery–“Ablot and Company” was really my first original art creation. If you follow the link, you can read a bit about Ablot’s history and where he appeared in print, plus you can see some of the comic strips I put online six years ago. Hopefully I’ll get time to restart those comics one day, but Ablot and his cohorts are always around. If you ever see me doodling, I’m usually drawing them.

I can’t believe it’s been 24 years! I need to do (or draw) something big for his 25th birthday next year.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

