jump to navigation

This Week and Last Week October 24, 2006

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

First things first: Friday night there’s an Artwalk Brewhaha at the Starbucks in Five Points South. It lasts from 5:00 to 9:00 p.m., with live music starting at 6:00. Two artists are featured this time–mixed media master Shelia Cook and painter Julian Hazlett. Julian’s really nice–be sure to say hi. You’ll also be able to pick up coupons and special offers for other spots in the Five Points neighborhood. Friday nights just don’t get easier than that! :)

And now my Kentuck report: Wow–I mean wow! This year’s festival seemed to top all the others I’ve been to. I wanted to take a lot of stuff home! I particularly liked the work of the book arts students at the University of Alabama (one of them is a master printmaker already, doing detailed block prints of the moon and Van Gogh’s “Starry Night”) and Scott Peek of Standard Deluxe. I’ve mentioned them before on this blog, but this was the first time I’ve been able to see things beyond their posters and T-shirts–it’s fantastic stuff. He’s a wizard at mixing random prints so that they create something whole and fresh and unique and perfect. I bought a mixed screenprint on canvas that features a quote from the late Southern folk artist Howard Finster. It’s so right and inspiring that I have to include it here:

“The Lord spoke and said,
‘Give up the repair of lawn mowers;
Give up the repair of bicycles;
Give up the preaching of sermons;
Paint my pictures.’
And that’s what I done.”

Kentuck was even more fun this year because Andre and Betts came down and wandered among the art with me. And because they bought pieces I liked, and I bought a piece they liked, we’ll be able to enjoy them each time we visit each other. :)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

