jump to navigation

Activity Overload July 19, 2006

Posted by cbuchanan in Uncategorized.
trackback

Anyone who says there’s nothing to do in Birmingham is blind. The last half of this month is so full of things to do that I’m having to make some hard choices. Look what’s on my plate for the next week or two:

Movies by Moonlight – Historic Birmingham Photos Book Signing – Art on the Rocks – Downtown Walking Tour – Artwalk Brewhaha – Pepper Place Market – Preview Party for The Avenues Lofts (I have to see what they’ve done with the old Naked Art space, plus they’ve got a roof garden!) – Plus a concert, a coworker’s party, and I’m sure I’m missing something else I scribbled on my calendar

I’ve said it before–it’s a great time to be in this city.

Comments»

1. dresramblings - July 20, 2006

I got a few more things to drive you crazy over at the Ramblings site just for this weekend! And don’t forget to visit Wade’s site to learn more about the various summer film series going on in the metro area.

2. trav - July 21, 2006

When is the Avenues Loft Preview?
Is it an ‘open affair’ or innvite only?
Is there a link?
Can I think of any more questions?

3. cbuchanan - July 21, 2006

Hi, trav–

I saw an ad for the Avenues thing in Black & White, and it said the preview party is Friday, July 28, beginning at 5:00 p.m. They have a site up at theavenueslofts.com, but I didn’t see any mention of the party there.

Nice photos of Amos Kennedy on your site–I love his letterpress work!

4. trav - July 21, 2006

Thanks for the reply and kudos.
We’re big fans of Amos’ work.
And of yours for that matter.
In fact, I’m staring at your “Exotic Eastlake” print as I type this.
Looking forward to seeing your new stuff!

5. Dre’s Ramblings - July 22, 2006

[…] For those regular readers of the Ramblings, there are some that you are already familiar with. Wade Kwon is probably the most read on the list, as Wade on Birmingham provides the perspective of a Birmingham newsman born and raised in the metropolitan area. Curtis Palmer’s Musings on Birmingham provides snippets into the happenings of our region. Trav of Bryants of Bham visited the site yesterday asking a question about the Neon in Birmingham series. BTW, I will be adding links to map locations to all of the previous entries that do not currently have them this weekend. While I admit that I have not been a frequent reader of their blog since its creation in April, I am intrigued by the similarities in comments made on several issues in recent months. We also recently posted about Charles Buchanan’s recently joining in on the blogging parade with Pop Goes the City. Plan B for Birmingham seems to have an insider’s perspective on some of the political wrangling taking place, but occasionally tries to shine the light on what’s going on. And there are numerous people that inhabit the list of the Birmingham Combloggerator that choose to occasionally write about the city in their online diaries. […]


Leave a Reply

